KAHO Awards

Every year, KAHO recognizes those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to our students, colleagues, institutions, and the industry as a whole. Announced at the annual conference, recipients are selected by the Awards/Recognition Committee, chaired by the President-Elect, based on nominations received from members.

Current KAHO Sponsored Awards:

Ruth Ann Howard Service Award / Outstanding Service Award

Awarded for outstanding service to KAHO and their institution(s). Service to KAHO includes but is not limited to: service on the Governing Council, serving on the Host committee of a KAHO sponsored conference, publishing in the SEAHO Report, performance which has merited other awards in the state previously, etc.

Recipients of the Ruth Ann Howard Service Award:

  • Chris Owens, Western Kentucky University / St. Catharine College (2016)
  • Dr. Chris Summerlin, Morehead State University (2015)
  • Bryan Shelangoski, University of Louisville (2015)
  • Dr. David Wilson, Murray State University (2014)
  • Dr. Alicia Golston, Western Kentucky University (2013)
  • Michelle Massey, University of Louisville (2006)
  • Bob Brown, Transylvania University (2006)
  • Marcia Shrout, University of Kentucky (2005)
  • Doris Muller, University of Louisville (2004)

Top of Page

KAHO Unbridled Spirit Award

Awarded for significant and lasting contribution and service to his or her institution while embodying an unbridled spirit in service for the betterment of his or her institution, state, region, or the profession in general. Recipients should have a demonstrated record of service as a positive change‐agent in service to their students, colleagues, and peers.

Recipients of the KAHO Unbridled Spirit Award:

Top of Page

New Professional Award / Outstanding New Professional

Awarded to one recipient for outstanding contributions and service to his or her institution. Recipients must have worked for the institution for at least one year but no more than three years.

Recipients of the New Professional Award:

  • 2016 – Lauren Mountain, Northern Kentucky University
  • 2015 – Bryan Mathis, University of Louisville
  • 2014 – Sasha Ross, Western Kentucky University
  • 2013 – Heather Dorion, University of Louisville
  • 2006 – Kelley Woods, Northern Kentucky University
  • 2004 – Glen Midkiff, University of Louisville

Top of Page

Graduate Student Award / Outstanding Graduate Student

Awarded to the one recipient for outstanding contributions and service to their institution. Recipients should be a graduate student enrolled in their program for at least one year.

Recipients of the Graduate Student Award:

  • 2016 – Kaitlin Palmer, Eastern Kentucky University
  • 2015 – Ciara Mills, University of Kentucky
  • 2014 – Evan Keil, University of Louisville
  • 2005 – Angela Brown Taylor, University of Louisville
  • 2004 – Michael Anthony, University of Louisville

Top of Page

KARH Student of the Year Award

Awarded to one recipient for outstanding contributions to his or her institution and the Kentucky Association of Residence Halls.

Recipients of the KARH Student of the Year Award:

  • 2016 – Zack White, Morehead State University
  • 2015 – Maria Kues, University of Louisville
  • 2014 – Louis Hahn, University of Kentucky
  • 2013 – Jacob Holt, Western Kentucky University
  • 2006 – Deana Test, Morehead State University
  • 2005 – Patrick Scott, Morehead State University
  • 2004 – Mikiba Wigfall, University of Louisville, and Erin Yaden, Morehead State University

Top of Page

Best of the Bluegrass Award

Awarded to the program deemed as the best at the annual KAHO Conference. The recipient(s) will receive a total of $500 to present the program and represent Kentucky at the annual SEAHO Conference.

Recipients of the Best of the Bluegrass Award:

  • 2016 – Treat Yo Self: A Daily Commitment to Wellness presented by Danielle Cartwright (University of Louisville) and Sarah Gregory (University of Louisville)
  • 2015 – “Hybrid” Isn’t Only Cars: Combining Interaction and Program Tracking for a New Community Development Model presented by Lisa Koenig (Northern Kentucky University)
  • 2012 – Smile Squad presented by Teresa Crum (University of Louisville
  • 2011 – Hall Directors as Academic Advisors: How Housing and Residence Life Collaborates with Academic Advising at Western Kentucky University presented by Aubree Alvarez (Western Kentucky University) and Kevin Thomas (Western Kentucky University)
  • 2009 – How to Sleep Tight and Not Let the Bedbugs Bite: Best Practices in Bedbug Management presented by Peter Trentacoste (Northern Kentucky University)
  • 2008 – Blasting Off to Better Balance presented by Wayne Centers (Northern Kentucky University) and Peter Trentacoste (Northern Kentucky University)
  • 2006 – Personal Image Management in the Age of Facebook and MySpace presented by Peter Trentacoste (Northern Kentucky University)
  • 2005 – “We Called – They Answered” A Campus Collaboration presented by Dr. Ruth Davidson (Spalding University)
  • 2004 – Using Volunteers on Move-in Day: A Team Effort presented by Helen Grace Ryan (Eastern Kentucky University)
  • 2003 – SimHall, The Lighthouse of RA Training presented by Lana Riney (Western Kentucky University)

Top of Page

Information about recipients not listed here can be sent to mykaho@gmail.com